Oh To Be in England Again!

Any year I’m not going over to England for a visit, I long for the planning and the anticipation and just to be there.  My friends who have joined me there understand exactly what I mean by longing to be there.  Instead I find myself looking for things that remind me of that feeling, be it my photo albums, journals, movies, or books.

Here are a few of the images that keep me going until I have concrete plans to make the journey again:

Sheffield Park

Shop front in London

                                                                        

                         

Hope you get to go soon!

9 thoughts on “Oh To Be in England Again!

  1. I am in the same boat, missing England and looking longingly through blog posts and my own photo albums. I am moving there in a few months time and could not be more excited. It’s come to feel like home. I definitely want to visit Sheffield Park now it looks beautiful; also dying to try one of those clotted cream scones 🙂

    Hope you’ll get to visit England soon!

    Like

    • I know what you mean, I feel completely at home and even drive sometimes when I’m there. Lucky you, my dream come true, being able to actually live there. Not sure if you got to see my post on Sheffield Park. Spectacular place, I can highly recommend. Just stunningly beautiful! Would love to hear about your visit.
      Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t seen your post on Sheffield Park I will check that out :). Here is a post on my most eventful trip to England: https://ldr13.wordpress.com/our-second-meeting/ whether it’s sightseeing or taking it easy every visit is lovely :). Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    p.s. you are brave to drive there, I have yet to try that! I also can’t drive a standard car so that will be a huge learning curve in itself. Then there’s those pesky roundabouts and driving on the wrong side of the road :p

    Like

  3. I will definitely read your blog, us Anglophiles have to stick together:) Driving is a challenge and a lot easier to do in the country than in London! If you have to drive anywhere in London, make sure you get a copy of “London A to Z”, immensely helpful. The street will change names in the middle of a block, but the signs are up on the side of a building, so it’s hard to notice. The main thing to remember is always, always, always look left before you pull out. I found that it takes two to drive there if you aren’t used to it. One to navigate and the other to drive.
    I do drive a standard every day, but I didn’t want to have to worry about shifting with my left hand and driving on the wrong side of the road. I always rent automatics when I’m there, one less thing to worry about.
    I got used to the roundabouts and came to appreciate them. The road signs there will be just a few feet from the turn, so by the time you read the sign and realize you needed to turn you are past the road! We just went to the next roundabout and came back. I found it easier to drive in Wales believe it or not, even though I have no idea how to pronounce the names of anything there!
    The best thing is if you can get a car with a GPS that tells you where to turn.
    It made me laugh when I heard one the first time with a British accent. It was one of those things where you are so used to your normal that it’s what you expect. I had to laugh at myself because why I would expect an English GPS to sound like an American I’ll never know!
    Linda

    Like

  4. So funny to read your thoughts on our roads. It’s so true though. Don’t you have roundabouts? They have them on the continent too and that is very weird going round them the wrong way. Once, when we were on holiday in Majorca I rode my bike the wrong way round one and a local was smiling, so I waved and thought he must be thinking how very clever I was to negotiate it the wrong way and then I realised what I had done, but my brain was so back to front it was like writing with my left hand. And the GPS’s! That woman with the posh English voice, ‘At the third exit ….’ they even make us laugh! Every time I tear around a blind corner on one of our ‘one car wide’ country roads I think of Marcie gripping the seat and saying, ‘The way you drive so fast! What happens if something is coming the other way?’ And I said something like, ‘Oh, we have brakes, and also we just get up in the hedge as far as we can.’
    You gotta love us Brits, we’re so dappy. Oh and Linda, have you seen the film, Mrs Caldecot’s Cabbage War? It’s about a widow whose son puts her in an old people’s home and she gets all the inmates to mutiny and get their own back. Hilarious.

    Like

  5. Thanks for your comment Lin! We do have one roundabout now, I can’t tell you how many people complain about it. I think they’re brilliant. I love the B roads. Remember the scene in “The Holiday” when Cameron Diaz’ character sees a truck coming and she trys to make herself thinner? Marcie and I both do that! It must work, haven’t hit anything yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

