Been Gone Awhile

Well, I never imagined that I would come back from a visit to England and not instantly write to tell you all about the wonderful places I’d been and seen.  I did start, but then as happens, life got in the way.  I was made redundant at my job of thirteen plus years.  Not just me, but most people in my position all across the US.  I’m not going to rant and rave and tell you about the big bad corporate bank I worked for and was then cast aside without a thought. (How dramatic is that?)

No, I actually knew about it before I left for England.  You might think that I would enjoy my holiday more for a couple of reasons: First, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.   My job was long hours and lots of stress.  Second, it may be the last trip for awhile because, darn it, no one pays me to stay home and enjoy a life of leisure!

Having said that, it really did put a damper on it in some ways.  Not that it wasn’t lovely to be there but because of the unknown. I’m the kind of person that likes to plan, to get my ducks in a row and know where my next meal is coming from.  I have been more than a little worried about it.

I’m not telling you this so you’ll all feel sorry for me, but I just wanted to explain.  I’ve gone through the gamut from anger to depression and fear.  Thankfully I’m a Leo and not one to be down for long.  I’m totally enjoying my time at home.  For the first time since my oldest was born in 1978, I’m ready for Christmas.  I mean presents bought and wrapped, house decorated, meals planned.  Except for a few more cookies to bake for neighbors and friends, I’m done!  I’m going to be able to enjoy this holiday. Also, I have more time to write which is a huge gift.

After the holidays are over I will look for a part time job with benefits and call it good.  We work all of those years and I think most of us get on a kind of treadmill where we think we have to keep plugging along or else. But here I am still upright and feeling better than I have in the last few years.  I was seriously getting to the point where I didn’t know how many more days I could take it.  When you have a career that you like and then the focus of the company changes so drastically that you don’t believe in what you’re doing anymore, you really need to step back and find a new path.

So, what started out as my worse fear has become the best thing to happen to me and I am ecstatic about it!

For now, I’m going to re-post my Christmas in London from last year and start compiling the information and photos to show you from this trip.  There are really fantastic places like Sheffield Park in the South and Santa Pod Racetrack in the North and many, many destinations in between.

Merry Christmas everyone and Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

