Garden Shows

 

I’ve never been to any of the big garden shows in England.  Here in America we have home shows where you can find gardening products to buy.  We also have great garden tours for both commercial gardens and private home owners that open their gardens to the public,  usually to benefit charity.  I’ve never been aware, at least in my part of the US of any gardening show that have designers make a mini garden just to show.

Chelsea Flower Show

The biggest one that I’ve heard of for most of my life is the RHS Chelsea Flower Show.  This is because it’s the biggest garden show in England, possibly the world.  It was originally known as the Great Spring Show and is held every year at the Royal Hospital Chelsea for 5 days in May.

The Royal Horticultural Society was founded in 1804 in London as  a charitable work that helps to protect plants, gardens and green spaces.  The RHS has 4 major gardens in England:  Wisley Garden in Surrey, Rosemoor Garden in Devon,  Hyde Hall in Essex,  and Harlow Carr in North Yorkshire.

Hampton Court Palace

My friend in London told me last week that they have an RHS  Hampton Court Palace Garden Show in July!  I was blown away with this piece of news and now have a new # 1 event on my bucket list!  It combines my favorite palace (so far) with one of my very favorite past times.  Oh the ideas I could get.  If my husband knew about this, he would either A. be annoyed with my friend Sue or B. be very, very nervous.  Well, lucky for him the next trip is already planned for the wrong time of year, so he’s safe for a while.

Tatton Park Flower Show

In addition to the 2 annual shows listed above there is the  Tatton Park Flower Show in Cheshire (July) and the  RHS Show Cardiff at Cardiff Castle in Wales (April).  So you see, there are different shows at different times of the year and in different places.

Cardiff Castle

I may have just got the dates for a future visit to the UK, if I go in July I can see 2 of these amazing shows in one trip!

Leave a Reply

