Oxford-Sept 27, 2001

Before we went on this trip, I really didn’t know much about Oxford except that it is a college.  Per Jean’s previous experience, we went to the car park outside of town and joined a bus tour.  I for one really appreciate the city bus tours that I’ve had the chance to go on.  The guides tell you so many interesting facts and it’s nice being able to see them as you’re learning about them.

 

This city is very old, started in the 1100s!  It is a collection of 35 colleges all under the umbrella of Oxford University plus all the other kind of things needed for people to live.  Housing, food, shops, etc.  The architecture is amazing here and it’s such a busy, busy city that I’m glad we’re not driving!

There are bike parks here that boggle the mind. I’ve never seen this many bikes in my life, let alone in one place!

We went into a little mall and had some delicious pasties, bought a few t-shirts and looked around in the shops.  The thing I found most fascinating were the gargoyles up on top of the buildings and I’m sure that many people agree with me.

                                                   

What I wasn’t prepared for was so many homeless beggars, trash diggers and scam artists, it’s kind of scary.  To this day I have an image of a little wizened looking person walking down an Oxford street in a long shapeless wool coat with a hood and gloves and wrappings around the legs and feet.  I have no idea whether it was a man or woman, but I remember wondering what his/her story was.   I think about that person sometimes still.

Here I am years later and hooked on “Inspector Lewis” which is set in Oxford and it’s fun to see the sights in the show and wonder if they are on a street that I got to see.  With this many murders I guess finding it a little scary wasn’t too far off!

8 thoughts on “Oxford-Sept 27, 2001

  1. Did you ever manage to get hold of the Inspector Morse series Linda? Morse was the forerunner to Lewis; Lewis was to Morse what Hathaway is to Lewis. The actor who played Morse died (John Thaw) also, I don’t know if you know this, but the author appears somewhere in every episode, usually in a wheelchair, something like Alfred Hitchcock did. We love Oxford too. Sometimes we have a day trip and visit the ‘Morse pubs’! Especially the Trout where you will often see a scene with the river behind. Lovely. I am so pleased you enjoyed Oxford.

    Like

    • I looked for it on Netflix, and they don’t have it. I check back every couple of weeks, because they are always adding things. Hopefully they will get it soon, because I’m all caught up on Inspector Lewis!

      Like

      • It’s quite an old series now. 1980’s. Maybe that’s why. Lewis was a young dashing sergeant back then! Never mind, I have the whole series, all 7 of them! We can have evenings of catch up next time you come.

        Like

  2. That’s what we were taught at school anyway, but I’ve never looked into it. They were very superstitious in the dark ages. I have just watched the most fabulous series on TV called The White Queen, about Elizabeth Woodville, a commoner Lancastrian supporter (White Rose) who married King Edward IV (Red Rose) for love. She was a Lancastrian, he was a Yorkist, and the older brother of Richard III. The two houses had been fighting each other for the throne of England for years. That era ended the Wars of the Roses and brought us into Tudor times when Henry, son of Mary Beaufort and Edmund Tudor (deceased) fought Richard at Bosworth and killed him, taking the crown. He was father to Henry VIII so if you get it sometime in America I can thoroughly recommend it. Dr Phillipa Gregory wrote the book (she’s a Historian) and it’s wonderful. In those days churches etc were a sanctuary where people could live safely. Elizabeth used them a lot when Edward died. (Elizabeth’s two sons and heirs were killed in The Tower by either Richard to enable his right to the throne, or Margaret to enable Henry VII. Both denied it and no-one knows to this day who killed them). Shakespeare says Richard, but modern thinking is against this.

    (No torture scenes or implied torture either which was refreshing)

    Like

Leave a Reply

